West Virginia

West Virginia

West Virginia Private Projects
Notice Req.
Intent to Lien
Lien Req.
Prime Contractor

.

.

Sub Contractor

.

.

Suppliers/Other

.

.

West Virginia

Notices of Mechanic’s Lien, Notice of Mechanic’s Lien-Supplier to Contractor/Subcontractor, Notice of Mechanic’s Lien-Subcontractor, Notice of Mechanic’s Lien-Labor to Contractor/Subcontractor

 

1. Does West Virginia Require a notice to Owner prior to Performance?

Optional but helpful!  If you do not have a direct contract with the owner of the property sending a Notice to Owner puts the owner on notice that you have furnished materials and/or labor to the project.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by sending a Notice to Owner Now!

2. What is my time frame for recording a lien?

Parties working for the owner

  •  Contractors must file their within 100 days from completion of the contract, or last supplying materials or performing work on the project.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS File a  Notice of Mechanic’s Lien

  • Material men working for the owner, must record a Notice of Mechanic’s Lien within 100 days from the last furnishing of the materials, machinery, or other supplies and equipment.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS File a  Notice of Mechanic’s Lien

  • Mechanics or laborers working for an owner must record a Notice of Mechanic’s Lien in the office of the County Commission within 100 days from the date of the last work and labor.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS File a  Notice of Mechanic’s Lien

For Parties not directly working for the owner

  •  Material men must record a Notice of Mechanic’s at the office of the County Commission, within 100 days from the last day of work.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS file a Notice of Mechanic’s Lien-Supplier to Contractor/Subcontractor

  • Subcontractors must serve the owner or its authorized agent a, Notice of Mechanic’s Lien-Subcontractor, within 100 days and recording it in the office of the County Commission within 100 days from completion of the subcontract, or last supplying materials or performing work on the project.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS File a Notice of Mechanic’s Lien-Subcontractor

  • Mechanics or laborers working for a contractor or subcontractors must serve the owner or its authorized agent within 100 days and recording it in the office of the County Commission within one hundred 100 days from the date of the performing of the last of the work and labor.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS file a Notice of Mechanic’s Lien-Labor to Contractor/Subcontractor

 

3. Can an unlicensed contractor file a lien?

No. The state of West Virginia does need other licensing requirements in order to claim a mechanic’s lien.  It is not wise to perform services where a license is required without having that license.

 

4. Who all are not protected by the lien law of West Virginia?

General contractors, subcontractors, and those contracting with them are protected. Sub-subcontractors and 2nd tier material man are offered protection. Unfortunately anyone lower tier is not afforded the same rights so know where you stand on the food chain!

GET PAID TODAY by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

5. How long do I have to file for a lien of foreclosure?

Within 6 months of filing notice.

GET PAID TODAY by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

West Virginia State Projects
Notice Requirements
Lien Requirements
Prime Contractor

Not Required

Not Required

Suppliers/Other

Not Required

Not Required

Get Paid Now!Secure your lien rights and get paid on your terms.At SunRay we are interested in the success of your business, as your success is our success!