Virginia

Virginia Lien Law

Virginia Private Projects
Notice Req.
Intent to Lien
Lien Req.
Prime Contractor

No preliminary Notice required.

N/A

90 days (not 3 months) after the last day of furnishing labor and/or materials on the project or the work is terminated, whichever occurs first.

Sub Contractor

For Residential – One and Two Family Residential Dwelling Units 

A Preliminary Notice must be sent 30 days from furnishing labor and/or materials. This notice is required if a mechanic’s lien agent has been designated on the building permit.

 

For Commercial Projects a preliminary notice is not required. 

 

N/A

90 days (not 3 months) after the last day of furnishing labor and/or materials on the project or the work is terminated, whichever occurs first.

Suppliers/Other

For Residential – One and Two Family Residential Dwelling Units 

Preliminary Notice must be sent 30 days from furnishing labor and/or materials. This notice is required if a mechanic’s lien agent has been designated on the building permit.

 

For Commercial Projects a preliminary notice is not required. 

 

N/A

90 days (not 3 months) after the last day of furnishing labor and/or materials on the project or the work is terminated, whichever occurs first.

Virginia

Notices to Owner, Notice to General Contractor, Mechanics Lien

 

1. Does Virginia require any notice or filing prior to work done on the site?

Yes, if you are working on Residential One and Two Family Residential Dwelling Units.  A Preliminary Notice must be sent 30 days from furnishing labor and/or materials. This notice is required if a mechanic’s lien agent has been designated on the building permit.

 

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by sending a Notice to Owner/Notice to General Contractor prior to Performance NOW!

2. How long is the time frame for recording a claim of lien?

90 consecutive days, after the last day of the month, in which the claimant last furnishes labor and/or materials for the project. In other instances, 90 days after the last date on which the project is completed.

File a Mechanic’s Lien NOW!

3. How long do I have to file for a lien of foreclosure? 

6 months after the date on which the lien is filed, or 2 months after the project is completed or the work is terminated.

4. When is my last day of work so that I can file a lien to get paid?

From the time of the contractor’s last day of performed work, they can begin the filing a Claim of Lien.  Labor and/or materials for remedial work or warranty obligations are not considered for the purposes of establishing the last day of work.

GET PAID NOW sign up with SunRay Construction!

5.What construction project participants are not protected by the lien law?

At times third and lower tier subcontractors are not covered.

GET PAID NOW sign up with SunRay Construction!

6. What costs are not eligible for claim?

For labor or materials furnished more than 150 days, a claimant may not compensate for in a claim, prior to the last date on which labor or materials where provided for.

GET PAID NOW sign up with SunRay Construction!

7. Can lien be place on a government building?

No. Buildings owned by the government have sovereign immunity and liens can’t be placed on their property.   If the project is bonded you may place a claim against the bond.

GET PAID NOW sign up with SunRay Construction!

Virginia State Projects
Notice Requirements
Lien Requirements
Prime Contractor

Not Required

Not Required

Suppliers/Other

Not Required

Not Required

Get Paid Now!Secure your lien rights and get paid on your terms.At SunRay we are interested in the success of your business, as your success is our success!