New Jersey

New Jersey Lien Law

New Jersey Private Projects
Notice Req.
Intent to Lien
Lien Req.
Prime Contractor

Not Required

A lien must be filed within 90 days of last furnishing services. Residential projects filing within 120 days. Enforcement due within 1 year from last furnishing services.

Sub Contractor

A notice of unpaid balance is due within 60 days of last furnishing services on all residential projects.

A lien must be filed within the 90 day period of last furnishing services. Enforcement withing 1 year of last furnishing services.

Suppliers/Other

A notice of unpaid balance is due within 60 days of last furnishing services on all residential projects.

A lien must be filed within the 90 day period of last furnishing services. Enforcement withing 1 year of last furnishing services.

New Jersey 101

File a Notice of Unpaid Balance and Right to File LienFile a Demand for ArbitrationFile a Construction Lien Claim 

 

 

1. How long do I have to file a claim of lien in New Jersey?

New Jersey, a mechanic’s lien on non-residential property must be record within 90 days from the last furnished labor or materials for the project.  It must be served to the owner within 10 business days from recorded date.  A mechanic’s lien on residential property must be recorded 120 from the last furnishing labor or materials for the project.  It must be served to the owner within 10 business days from recorded date.

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

2. Do I have to file any notices before I start work on a property in New Jersey?

No.

 

3. What is my last day performing services so that I can request payment?

90 days for non-residential projects, and 120 days for residential projects from the last performance of work, or the delivery of materials or equipment. 

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

4. Who do not have any lien rights in the state of New Jersey?

Lower than third tier of subcontractors have no construction lien rights.  Suppliers to suppliers are not protected.

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

5. How long do I have to file for a lien of foreclosure?

Within 1 year of completion of the claimant’s last services.. The only exception is if an owner demands that a lawsuit be started within thirty 30 days. 

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

6. Is there mandatory notice requirements in New Jersey?

Claimants on residential construction projects are required to record a Notice of Unpaid Balance and Right to File Lien, along with a Demand for Arbitration before filing a Construction Lien Claim.  The Notice of Unpaid Balance and Right to File Lien must be lodged recorded within 60 days following the last date on which work, services, were provided for payment.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by filing a Notice of Unpaid Balance and Right to File Lien NOW

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by filing a Demand for Arbitration NOW

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by filing a Construction Lien Claim NOW

 

7. Who satisfies the lien when I get paid?

The lien claimant must file to discharge the lien within 30 days of payment.

8. What cost can I claim for?

Contractors, subcontractors or suppliers who provide services, materials or equipment in accordance to the written contract, can claim for their payment.  

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

New Jersey State Projects
Notice Requirements
Lien Requirements
Prime Contractor

Not Required

Suppliers/Other

If you do not have a direct contract with the GC that holds the bond you are required to send a preliminary notice before furnishing labor and/or material.

Must send a Claim on Bond 90 days from last furnishing labor and/or material to the project.   You have 1 year to sue on the bond if you are not paid.

Get Paid Now!Secure your lien rights and get paid on your terms.At SunRay we are interested in the success of your business, as your success is our success!