Illinois

Illinois Lien Law

Illinois Private Projects
Notice Req.
Intent to Lien
Lien Req.
Prime Contractor

Not Required

Not Required

A Construction Lien commonly known in the state of Illinois as an  “Original Contractor’s Claim for Lien” is required to be recorded 4 months (4 months) from last day on the job.

Sub Contractor

“Sixty-Day Notice for Single Family Residence Occupied By Owner” must be sent sixty days (60 days) from first furnishing materials and/or labor.

“Subcontractor’s Notice of Intent to File Mechanic’s Lien” is required to be sent by the ninetieth days (90 days) of last day on project.

A Construction Lien commonly known in the state of Illinois as an  “Subcontractor’s Claim for Lien” is required to be recorded 4 months (4 months) from last day on the job.

Suppliers/Other

“Sixty-Day Notice for Single Family Residence Occupied By Owner” must be sent sixty days (60 days) from first furnishing materials and/or labor.

“Subcontractor’s Notice of Intent to File Mechanic’s Lien” is required to be sent by the ninetieth days (90 days) of last day on project.

A Construction Lien commonly known in the state of Illinois as an  “Subcontractor’s Claim for Lien” is required to be recorded 4 months (4 months) from last day on the job.

Illinois 101

Subcontractor’s Notice of Intention to File Mechanic’s Lien, and  Mechanic’s Lien

 

1. How long do I have to file a claim of lien in Illinois?

Within 4 months of completion.

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

2. Do I have to file any notices before I start work on a property in Illinois?

This only applies to a subcontractor who performs work on a single family home and wants to have the right to lien.  The time period is within 60 days from the last day of furnishing services.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by filing a Subcontractor’s Notice of Intention to File Mechanic’s Lien.

 

3. When is my last day of work so that I can file a lien to get paid?

From the last day that services were performed in accordance to the contract.

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

4. Who are protected under the lien laws in the state of Illinois?

A contractor, engineers, laborers, subcontractors, and sub-subcontractor.  Also, other parties who provided services to the property/project.

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

5. How long do I have to file for a lien of foreclosure?

Within 2 years of completion of lienable work. 

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

6. Is there mandatory notice requirements in Illinois?

A subcontractor must serve a Subcontractor’s Notice of Intention to File Mechanic’s Lien. The subcontractor notice must be served within 90 days of having last services to be lien.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by filing a Subcontractor’s Notice of Intention to File Mechanic’s Lien.

 

7. Who satisfies the lien when I get paid?

A claimant must file a Release of Mechanic’s Lien, once the lien has been satisfied.

8. What cost can I claim for?

Illinois covers professional fees, interest, and attorneys’ fees.  Along with certain costs and damages made, to be claimable.

 GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

Illinois State Projects
Notice Requirements
Lien Requirements
Prime Contractor

Not Required

Not Required

Suppliers/Other

Not Required

There is no required time to file a Pubic Notice of Claim. The notice will only be effective to money that has not been paid to the prime contractor by the public agency. Enforcement of suit for a public Notice of Claim needs to be within 90 days of filing.

Get Paid Now!Secure your lien rights and get paid on your terms.At SunRay we are interested in the success of your business, as your success is our success!