Tennessee

Tennessee

Tennessee Private Projects
Notice Req.
Intent to Lien
Lien Req.
Prime Contractor

Prime Contractor is required to provide the owner a “Notice to Owner” before start of project.

Not Required

A Prime Contractor may file a Lien, known as a “Notice of Lien and Sworn Statement” one year (1) after last day on the project.

Sub Contractor

READ TWICE-THE REQUIREMENTS ARE VERY DIFFERENT! 

A “NOTICE OF NONPAYMENT” must be given ninety (90) days of the last day of EACH MONTH where money is owed. 

Not Required

A Subcontractor may file a Lien, known as “Notice of Lien and Sworn Statement” ninety days (90) after last day on the project.

Suppliers/Other

READ TWICE-THE REQUIREMENTS ARE VERY DIFFERENT! 

A “NOTICE OF NONPAYMENT” must be given ninety (90) days of the last day of EACH MONTH where money is owed. 

Not Required

A supplier may file a Lien, known as “Notice of Lien and Sworn Statement” ninety days (90) after last day on project.

 Tennessee

Notice to Owner, Mechanics Lien

 

1. Does Tennessee law for lien require mandatory notice requirement I’m the General Contractor? 

Tennessee law requires the prime contractor to give a Notice to Owner prior to starting improvement to the property or the making the contract.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by sending your Notice to Owner NOW!

 

2. Are there any notice requirements to send if I don’t have a direct contract with the owner of the property?

YES! A Notice of Nonpayment must be given within ninety (90) days of the last day of each month within which labor or work was provided or materials, services, equipment, or machinery were furnished.

GET PAID NOW SIGN up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

3. When can I file a lien on a property if I’m not paid?

If you do not have a direct contract with the owner you have 90 days from the last day you have furnished materials and/or labor to the project to record a Notice of Lien and Sworn Statement

GET PAID NOW SIGN up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

4. What is the procedure for bonding or removing the claim of lien?

Filing a Bond to Discharge Lien or filing accompanied by a payment bond may be used to remove a lien claim from the real property.

GET PAID NOW SIGN up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

5. What costs or damages made are not generally allowed in a lien claim?

Interest, service charges, late fees, and attorney fees

 

6. What is the deadline to start a lien foreclosure if I have a direct contract with the owner?

A General Contractor must file suit within 90 days of filing a Notice of Lien and Sworn Statement.  A contractor contracted with the owner must file suit within 1 year after the improvement is completed or abandoned.

GET PAID NOW SIGN up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

7. Who all are protected by the lien law Tennessee?

Tennessee provides statutory protection to parties that supply materials, services, and/or furnish labor for the improvement of real property as a means of collection for services rendered.

  • Prime Contractor
  • Remote Contractor
  • General Contractor
  • Laborer

GET PAID NOW SIGN up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

Tennessee State Projects
Notice Requirements
Lien Requirements
Prime Contractor

Not Required

Not Required

Suppliers/Other

Not Required

Not Required

Get Paid Now!Secure your lien rights and get paid on your terms.At SunRay we are interested in the success of your business, as your success is our success!