New Hampshire

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Private Projects
Notice Req.
Intent to Lien
Lien Req.
Prime Contractor

Not Required

Not Required

A Construction Lien commonly known as “Contractor’s Lien” is required to be recorded within one hundred twenty (120) consecutive days after last on the project.

Sub Contractor

Best business practice is to send Preliminary Notice before furnishing labor or material to a project. If the subcontractor or supplier fails to furnish this notice before starting his work, his lien may be limited to the amounts due to the general contractor, or that may become due after notice is given.  In addition, a written accounting needs to be sent every 30 days if there is a new amount due. Note – You must have a contract with either the General Contractor or Subcontractor that is contracted with the GC in order to secure your lien rights.

Not Required

A Construction Lien commonly known as “Subcontractor’s Lien” is required to be recorded within one hundred twenty (120) consecutive days after last on the project.

Suppliers/Other

Best business practice is to send Preliminary Notice before furnishing labor or material to a project. If the subcontractor or supplier fails to furnish this notice before starting his work, his lien may be limited to the amounts due to the general contractor, or that may become due after notice is given.  In addition, a written accounting needs to be sent every 30 days if there is a new amount due. Note – You must have a contract with either the General Contractor or Subcontractor that is contracted with the GC in order to secure your lien rights.

Not Required 

A Construction Lien commonly known as “Subcontractor’s Lien” is required to be recorded within one hundred twenty (120) consecutive days after last on the project.

New Hampshire

Notice of Intent to Lien, Mechanic’s Lien

 

1. How long do I have to file a claim of lien in New Hampshire?

120 calendar days after the last day labor or materials are furnished for the project.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by filing a Claim of Lien

 

2. Do I have to file any notices before I start work on a property in New Hampshire?

New Hampshire law does not require any notice or filing prior to the performance of the work by the prime contractor.  However a Notice of Intent to Lien must be served on the landowner by subcontractors, suppliers in order to protect their lien rights.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS Subcontractors file a Notice of Intent to Lien NOW!

 

3. When is my last day of work so that I can file a lien to get paid?

The last day that labor or materials are furnished in fulfill to the contract is the last day of work. 

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

4. Who are protected under the lien rights in the state of New Hampshire?

To be protected, you must be in contract with an owner.  A material supplier to a material supplier, is not protected.

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

5. Is there a mandatory notice requirement law in New Hampshire?

Yes.  Failure for a first or second tier subcontractor to serve a Notice of Intent to Lien on the owner limits the amount of the lien. 

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by file a Notice of Intent to Lien NOW!

 

6. How long do I have to file for a lien of foreclosure?

120 consecutive days after last furnishing of labor or materials

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

7. Does my mechanic lien have priority over other liens?

Yes mechanic’s lien priority over all pre-recorded liens.

 GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

8. Who satisfies the lien when I get paid?

The lien claimant has to withdraw the court action.

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

9. What cost are not claimable?

Interest, attorney fees, lost profits, equipment not attached to the building, and damages.

 

New Hampshire State Projects
Notice Requirements
Lien Requirements
Prime Contractor

Not Required

Not Required

Suppliers/Other

Not Required

Must file a claim within 90 days of completing and acceptance of the project with owner. Enforcement of suit must be filed within 1 years from the filing of claim.

Get Paid Now!Secure your lien rights and get paid on your terms.At SunRay we are interested in the success of your business, as your success is our success!