Kansas

Kansas  

Kansas Private Projects
Notice Req.
Intent to Lien
Lien Req.
Prime Contractor

The Prime Contractor is required to record a “Notice of Intent to Perform” on “new residential property”

Not Required

A Construction Lien also known as in the state of Kansas “Lien Statement” is required to be recorded  from Four months (4 months) from last furnishing.

Sub Contractor

For “Pre-Existing Residential Property” a Preliminary Notice aka in Kansas as a “Warning Statement” is required to be sent to the owner of the property and contractor.

Not Required

A Construction Lien also known as  in the state of Kansas “Lien Statement” is required to be recorded Three months (3 months) from last furnishing.

Suppliers/Other

For “Pre-Existing Residential Property” a Preliminary Notice aka in Kansas as a “Warning Statement” is required to be sent to the owner of the property and contractor.

Not Required

A Construction Lien also known as in the state of Kansas “Lien Statement” is required to be recorded Three months (3 months)  from last furnishing.

Kansas

Notice of Intent to Perform, Warning Statement, Mechanic’s Lien

 

1. Does Kansas require any notice or filing prior to the performance of work?

Yes! If you are not contracted directly by the owner of the property and for new residential property a subcontractor needs to send a Warning Statement to Pre-existing residential property.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by sending a Warning Statement Now!

 

2. Is a General Contractor required to send a notice before commencing work?

Yes! A General Contractor must send a Notice of Intent to Perform for new residential construction.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by sending a Notice of Intent to Perform Now!

 

3. What is the time frame for filing a lien?                                                

General Contractor has 4 months from the last date labor, materials delivered, equipment, or supplies were used.

Subcontractor/Supplier/Other has 3 months from last day of delivery of materials and/or labor.

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

4. Who all are not protected by the lien law of Kansas?

Sub-subcontractors, a supplier of a supplier, and a supplier to a sub-subcontractor.

 

5. What costs or damages made are not generally allowed in a lien claim?

The amount of claim is the reasonable value of the labor, equipment, materials or supplies used for the project.  No attorney’s fees or other charges are allowed.

GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

6. Can I File a Lien if I’m Unlicensed?

Yes! Surprisingly there aren’t any major requirements under the mec there are no significant requirements to the licensing of, a mechanics lien claimant.

 GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

7. Who satisfies the lien once it gets paid in Kansas?

If payment is made after the lien is filed, it may be taken into consideration to be removed.

 

 

Kansas State Projects
Notice Requirements
Lien Requirements
Prime Contractor

Not Required

Not Required

Suppliers/Other

Not Required

Filing a notice of claim against the bond would start the bonds claim process. This will remove the need to file a litigation. Lawsuit to enforce bond claims needs to be filed within 6 months after completion of such project. Bonds connected to the improvement, maintenance, construction or the reconstruction of state highway system, enforcing the lawsuit is due within 1 year of the completed project.

Get Paid Now!Secure your lien rights and get paid on your terms.At SunRay we are interested in the success of your business, as your success is our success!