California

California Lien Law

California Private Projects
Notice Req.
Intent to Lien
Lien Req.
Prime Contractor

Who should receive a “Preliminary Notice?” Construction Lender. To secure your lien rights it should be sent within Twenty (20) Days from your  start date on the project. A “Preliminary Notice” requires  an estimated contract amount to be stated on the notice.

Not Required

Record mechanic’s lien known in the state of California as “Notice and Claim of Lien, Mechanic’s Materialmans’s or Professional Services” Ninety days (90 days) from last furnishing materials and/or labor.
CAUTION: If the owner records “Notice of Completion” the lien aka “Notice and Claim of Lien” must be recorded sixty days (60 days) from last furnishing labor and/or material.

Sub Contractor

Who should receive a “Preliminary Notice?” Owner, or reputed owner, original contractor, construction lender and company that hired you.
“Preliminary Notice” is a required notice if you wish to lien a property. It should be sent within  Twenty (20) Days from your  start date on the project.

A “Preliminary Notice” requires  an estimated contract amount to be stated on the notice.

Not Required

Record mechanic’s lien known in the state of California as “Notice and Claim of Lien, Mechanic’s Materialmans’s or Professional Services” Ninety days (90 days) from last furnishing materials and/or labor.
CAUTION: If the owner or General Contractor records “Notice of Completion” the lien aka “Notice and Claim of Lien” must be recorded thirty days (30 days) from last furnishing labor and/or material.

Suppliers/Other

Who should receive a “Preliminary Notice?” Owner, or reputed owner, original contractor, construction lender and the company that hired you.
“Preliminary Notice” is a required notice if you wish to lien a property. It should be sent within  Twenty (20) Days from your  start date on the project.

A “Preliminary Notice” requires to have an estimated contract amount.

Not Required

Record mechanic’s lien known in the state of California as “Notice and Claim of Lien, Mechanic’s Materialmans’s or Professional Services” Ninety days (90 days) from last furnishing materials and/or labor.
CAUTION: If the owner or General Contractor records “Notice of Completion” the lien aka “Notice and Claim of Lien” must be recorded thirty days (30 days) from last furnishing labor and/or material.

California

Preliminary Notice, Stop payment notice, Mechanics Lien

 

1. Do I have to send any notices before I start work on a property in California if I have a direct contract with the owner?

Yes! If you have a direct with the owner of the property and there is a lender the lender must receive a Preliminary Notice.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by sending a Notice to Owner/Notice to Contractor to Performance NOW!

 

2. Do I have to send any notices before I start work on a property in California if I don’t have a direct contract with the owner?

Yes! If you do have a direct contract with the owner of the property you must send a Preliminary Notice within  20 days of supplying materials and or labor to the project

 

3. What if I forget to send a preliminary notice or I missed my 20 day deadline?

The Preliminary notice can be sent however the subsequent lien will not cover what has been furnished more than 20 days prior to serving the notice.

 GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

4. How long do I have to file a claim of lien in California?

90 days after completion of the work.  If the owner recorded a Notice or Completion or a Notice of Cessation 60 days after recording from the prime contractor. All other lien claimant have 30 days to file a claim of lien.

 GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

5. When is my last day of work so that I can file a lien to get paid?

From the final date services were last performed or from the Notice of Cessation.

 SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by filing a Notice of Cessation

6. Who do not have any lien rights in the state of California?

An unlicensed contractor or anyone who is not contracted to the project, have no lien rights.

 

7. How long do I have to file for a lien of foreclosure?

90 days of recording the lien, or not more than 1 year if a Notice of Credit is filed.

 GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

8. Who satisfies the lien when I get paid?

The lien claim is to issue a Release of Lien to be recorded.

 GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

9. What cost can I claim for?

Damages and attorney fees are not claimable.

 GET PAID NOW by signing up with SunRay Construction Solutions

California State Projects
Notice Requirements
Lien Requirements
Prime Contractor

Not Required

Suppliers/Other

Suppliers must deliver a 20 day preliminary notice to the prime contractor and surety. This notice must be delivered within 20 days of the first furnishing of labor or materials to the project.

Record mechanic’s lien known in the state of California as “Notice and Claim of Lien, Mechanic’s Materialmans’s or Professional Services” Ninety days (90 days) from last furnishing materials and/or labor.
CAUTION: If the owner or General Contractor records “Notice of Completion” the lien aka “Notice and Claim of Lien” must be recorded thirty days (30 days) from last furnishing labor and/or material.

Get Paid Now!Secure your lien rights and get paid on your terms.At SunRay we are interested in the success of your business, as your success is our success!