Arkansas

Arkansas Private Projects
Notice Req.
Intent to Lien
Lien Req.
Prime Contractor

Before work commences on residential property the Prime Contractor is required to provide the owner a “Pre-Construction Notice to Owner.

Not Required

Record mechanic’s lien known in the state of Arkansas “Statement of Account and Claim of Lien” one hundred and twenty days (120 days) after last furnishing.

Sub Contractor

Before work commences on residential property it is required to provide a “Pre-Construction Notice to Owner.”

For commercial work a “Notice to Owner and Contractor” must be sent seventy five days (75 days) from last providing materials and/or labor.

A “Notice of Intent to File a Lien” must be sent by certified mail Ten Days (10 days) before recording lien.

Record mechanic’s lien known in the state of Arkansas “Statement of Account and Claim of Lien” one hundred and twenty days (120 days) after last furnishing.

Suppliers/Other

Before work commences on residential property it is required to provide a “Pre-Construction Notice to Owner.”

For commercial work a “Notice to Owner and Contractor” must be sent seventy five days (75 days) from last providing materials and/or labor.

A “Notice of Intent to File a Lien” must be sent by certified mail Ten Days (10 days) recording filing lien.

Record mechanic’s lien known in the state of Arkansas “Statement of Account and Claim of Lien” one hundred and twenty days (120 days) after last furnishing.

Arkansas

Pre-construction Notice to Owner, Notice to General Contractor, Notice of Intent to File a Lien, Statement of Account

 

1. Does Arkansas require mandatory notice requirement for residential property?

Yes! If it is residential and you do not have a direct contract with the owner you must send a Pre-Construction Notice to Owner before work is commenced.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by sending your Pre-Construction Notice to Owner.

 

2. Does Arkansas require mandatory notice requirement for commercial property?

Yes! If it commercial project and you do not have a direct contract with the owner you must send a Notice to Owner and General Contractor.  The notice must be sent within 75 days of the last date labor or materials were furnished to the project.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by sending your Notice to Owner and General Contractor.

 

3. Does Arkansas require an intent to lien before filing a lien on residential property?

Yes! If you do not have a direct contract you must sent a Notice of Intent to File a Lien at least 10 days before filing a lien.

 GET PAID NOW SIGN up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

4. Does Arkansas require an intent to lien before filing a lien on commercial property?

Yes! If you do not have a direct contract you must sent a Notice of Intent to File a Lien at least 10 days before filing a lien

GET PAID NOW SIGN UP with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

5. How long do I have to file a claim of lien? 

You have a 120 days from the last day you furnished labor and/or to file a Statement of Account and Claim of Lien.

GET PAID NOW SIGN UP with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

6. Does Georgia law place special requirements or limits on lower subcontractors or suppliers?

No, but lower subcontractors and suppliers may not be protected.  A subcontractor is entitled to a lien if the subcontractor provide services directly to a contractor or with a person who has a contract with the contractor.  Because a sub- subcontractor supplies labor or service to a subcontractor who contracted with a contractor, the sub-subcontractor is entitled to a lien.  However, a third-tier subcontractor may not qualify.  Arkansas courts have held that a remote material supplier is not entitled to a lien.  Only material men, who provide materials to a contractor or subcontractor is entitled to a lien under Arkansas law.

  • If a subcontractor provides services to a contractor in a contract they are protected.
  • A sub-subcontractor who provides services to the subcontractor, who is in contract are protected.
  • Third tier subcontractor’s may not qualify
  • Material men who provide services or materials to the contractor or subcontractor are protected.

GET PAID NOW SIGN up with SunRay Construction Solutions

 

7. What is considered the last day on the job?

The last day a contractor or supplier last performed work.  The furnished material, filing period begins the last day an item was furnished.

 

8. What construction project participants are not protected by the lien law?

Providers of rental equipment, are not covered by the law.  Also, subcontractors and suppliers may not be protected, unless they provide a Pre-Construction Notice to Owner.

SECURE YOUR LIEN RIGHTS by sending your Pre-Construction Notice to Owner.

 

9. How long do I have to file suit to a lien foreclosure?

Claimants have within 15 months within of filing the lien to start filing a foreclosure suit.

 

Arkansas State Projects
Notice Requirements
Lien Requirements
Prime Contractor

N/A

A claim against the bond may be filed within 6 months of the final payment. A lawsuit to enforce must be filed within 12 months from the day the state approves final payment. Forclosure must be brought within 15 months of filing the lien.

Suppliers/Other

N/A

A claim against the bond may be filed within 6 months of the final payment. A lawsuit to enforce must be filed within 12 months from the day the state approves final payment. Forclosure must be brought within 15 months of filing the lien.

Get Paid Now!Secure your lien rights and get paid on your terms.At SunRay we are interested in the success of your business, as your success is our success!